Headache: Curing the problem from its roots

Successful treatment of a common disease with acupuncture 

Headache occurring in all its possible types i.e. migraine, tension headache, cluster headache, headache caused by degenerative cervical spine disease etc. can be described as a widespread disease. Especially if the pain is occurring regularly and vigorously, the quality of life decreases.

Traditional Chinese Medicine offers a treatment alternative to all these forms of headache which shows good results in most cases.

How does the acupunture treatment work? 

As usual in TCM, the individual diagnosis is very important. Firstly to determine the exact cause of the headache, secondly to fine-tune the treatment to the patient. For the diagnosis it is important to know, among other things, where the headache is located, how often it occurs or whether there are other triggers (e.g. menstrual disorders, stress and hassle, weather changes or food such as red wine, chocolate, nuts etc.) and accompanying symptoms such as nausea, vomiting, light sensitivity, blurred vision or even numbness.

With the help of acupuncture so-called meridian blockages are resolved which are the consequences of a stagnation of Qi, which leads to pain from the perspective of Chinese medicine. The body relaxes, the pain and frequency of headache attacks reduce significantly.

In case of chronic headache an herbal treatment may become necessary to achieve successful treatment.

Are studies available? 

Yes, there are a lot of studies conducted. One from Germany can and two from the USA were conducted in the last three years showing the positive effect of acupuncture treatment.

 

 

© Dr. Nina Essl-Perl Imprint

Kopfschmerzen: Das Problem bei der Wurzel packen

Mit Akupunktur erfolgreich ein Volksleiden bekämpfen

Kopfschmerzen in all ihren Ausführungen, sei es Migräne, Spannungskopfschmerz, Cluster-Kopfschmerz, Kopfschmerzen bei degenerativen Halswirbelsäulenerkrankungen, etc. können durch die Häufigkeit ihres Auftreten durchaus als Volksleiden bezeichnet werden. Vor allem wenn die Schmerzen regelmäßig und heftig auftreten ist eine Minderung der Lebensqualität die Folge.

Bei all diesen Kopfschmerzformen bietet die Traditionelle Chinesische Medizin eine meist wirkungsvolle Behandlungsalternative an.

Wie läuft die Behandlung ab?

Wichtig für eine entsprechende Behandlung ist wie üblich in der TCM eine individuelle Diagnose. Dies dient einerseits dazu, die genauen Ursachen der Kopfschmerzen festzustellen, andererseits um die Behandlung auf den Patienten genau abzustimmen. Für die Diagnose ist es unter anderem wichtig zu wissen, wo die Kopfschmerzen lokalisiert sind, wie häufig die Anfälle auftreten; ob es andere Auslöser gibt (z.B. Regelbeschwerden, Stress und Ärger, Wetterumschwünge oder diverse Nahrungsmittel wie Rotwein, Schokolade, Nüsse, etc.) sowie Begleitsymptome wie Übelkeit, Erbrechen, Lichtempfindlichkeit, Augenflimmern oder sogar Taubheitsgefühle.

Anschließend können mit Hilfe der Akupunktur sogenannte Meridianblockaden, die auf einer Stauung des Qi beruhen und aus Sicht der chinesischen Medizin dadurch zu heftigen Schmerzattacken führen, aufgelöst werden. Der Körper entspannt dadurch, die Schmerzattacken lassen nach und auch die Häufigkeit der Kopfschmerzanfälle reduziert sich deutlich.

Bei chronischen Kopfschmerzen kann auch eine Therapie mit Heilkräutern notwendig werden, um einen Behandlungsdurchbruch zu erreichen.

Gibt es Studien dazu?

Ja, zahlreiche sogar. Eine große Studie aus Deutschland und zwei aus den USA haben erst in den vergangenen drei Jahren die positive Wirkung bestätigt.

 

 

 

© Dr. Nina Essl-Perl Impressum